Dear Mom and Dad,

I am no longer a kid now. I am sixteen. I am supposed to be on the city, hanging out with friends. I should have been on the bars at Friday nights. I should have been going home at midnight or at 4 in the morning. I wanna know what’s life outside this jail-home house.

Why don’t you show little trust for me? Why can’t you allow me to be happy? To enjoy life? Sometimes, I feel left out. Because my friends, their parents allow them to do whatever they wanna do. I know you care. Parents all do care! But, but, if your concern and care makes me feel like I’m a prisoner, then I think you should minimize it. ‘Cause sometimes, your care and concern offends me. It’s like I’m a prisoner living in this ugh-whatever-so-called-house.

You know, if I had the chance to audition in the PBB House, if they’ll ask me why am I going to join there, my answer would be.. “I wanna live away from my parents. I wanna learn how to stand on my own feet. I wanna be independent. I wanna be responsible in whatever decision I will make.”

(Sigh)

I wanna be free but I really don’t wanna live without ’em. That would be a boring life. My life will be worthless if they’re not here. Actually, they’re my inspiration. I wanna finish my studies because of ’em. I wanna be rich, because of ’em. I wanna be successful, because of ’em. They’re my priority. But, I wanna know myself too. How can I know myself more if I am so dependent on them?

(Sigh)

Mag-iwan ng puna